Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
GRAL teams wrap up shortened season

GRAL teams wrap up shortened season

  • 0

MECHANICSVILLE – The Greater Richmond Aquatic League completed its pandemic-shortened 2020 season with a pair of cross county matchups and plenty of excellent performances by county swimmers.

In the biggest cross-county pairing of the week, Burkwood’s deeper roster gave it an advantage in scoring, as the Buccaneers outscored the Barracudas 1,990.5 to 917.5. But Ashland’s top-tier swimmers – in the super varsity division – outdueled Burkwood 158-151.

Ashland head coach Kevin Trent was pleased with his undercard as well.

“When you swim Burkwood, the numbers are never in your favor,” Trent said. “But we did have some performances I was quite pleased with. Perhaps most notably was Casey Dingman. Casey is a 14-year-old who qualified for the Champs meet for the first time. She did that in two events. So that’s a good example of long-time work paying off. I was also very pleased with our 11-12 relays, which broke the team record in the medley relay.”

Ashland’s 11-12 mixed medley relay team of Grace Gordon, Emma Medei, Molly Hoben and Thomas Senfield won the super varsity division with a time of 2:28.44.

The Barracudas were led by quadruple winners Christine Datovech and Molly Hoben and triple winners Kate Balut, Clementine Fuller, Grace Gordon, Emme Medei, Emmeline Roberts, Michael Sabo, Thomas Senfield and Ethan Spencer.

The Buccaneers were led by quad winners Braden Amiss, Max Bowling, Max Jensen, Claire Ligday, Olivia Midgett and Bryce Newton. Burkwood had a host of triple winners: John Bednarczyk, Sam Castle, William Conlan, Anna Cross, Avery Cross, Ryan Cross, Natalie Culley, Grayson Fitch, Peter Frame, Kate McCormack, Rebekah McLaughlin, Anna Morrison, Jacob Rose, Livi Terry and Lilly Zyglocke.

The Federal Club edged Hanover Country Club in a battle of western county rivals 1,003-843. The Eagles were led by 10 quad winners: Ashlyn Bonanno, Colby Bonanno, Caroline Bruning, Charlotte Bruning, Catherin Callihan, Avery Duke, Lindsey Hair, Conner Jorgensen, Addison Rhodes and Sadie Smith. They had 11 triple winners: Sarah Abernathy, Ainsley Agee, Brannan Agee, Amanda Barnard, Taylor Olivia Brown, Anderson Byrd, Maggie McClintock, Bella Morrison, Alison Nickels, Ford Sprouse and Abigail Wang.

The Sharks were led by quad winner Sydney McAdoo and triple winners Caroline Cox, Samantha Cox, J.J. Droppleman, Jerrin Flinchbaugh, Cameron Greene, Robert Jones, Kaleb Kashinejad, Jonathan Page, Ryder Robinson, Charles Sanders and Finn Winegardner.

The Federal Club also knocked off Raintree 952-873. In this pairing, the Eagles were led by quad winners Ashlynn Bonanno, Charlotte Bruning, Anderson Byrd, Catherine Callihan, Lindsey Hair, Conner Jorgensen and Sadie Smith; and by quad winners Sarah Anderson, Brannan Agee, William Barnard III, Amanda Barnard, Caroline Bruning, Avery Duke, Josh Hair, Maggie McClintock, Ayden McKenna, Alison Nickels, Addison Rhodes, Leah Sculthorpe and Abigail Wang.

Pebble Creek was bested by the Dominion Club 938-686. The Piranhas were led by a quartet of triple winners: Ella Evanko, Mason Hill, Dillon Strohhacker and Kenzie Strohhacker.

Dave Lawrence can be reached at

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News