Regency Square Mall opened in Richmond’s west end in 1975. The mall was a project of Leonard Farber, a developer from Florida and local developer E. Carlton Wilton. Early stores in the mall included JCPenny, Miller & Rhoads, Thalhimers and Sears. A food court was added in the late 1980s.…
Chesterfield County’s Cloverleaf Mall opened in August 1972 with 42 stores and 760,000 square feet of retail space. It was the largest indoor shopping area in the Richmond region. The JCPenny’s store,which left Southside Plaza for Cloverleaf was also the largest in the state.
Here is a collection of photographs from the archive of the Richmond Times-Dispatch.
Built in 1913 amid a wave of construction in the area, 530 E. Main was one of several business and office residences constructed in what had been a mostly residential area of downtown Richmond.
Near the anniversary of the capture of Richmond by British General Benedict Arnold, a walking tour group explored the grounds of Chimborazo Park on Sunday morning.
The Salvation Army has served Richmonders for over 125 years.
Located on Monument Avenue, the Branch House is one of Richmond’s iconic historic homes.
Here's a collection of 1970s advertisements taken from the digitized microfilm of the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive.
Augustus “Auggie” Bryan was a Boy Scout in search of an Eagle project that would be of significant benefit to his community.
A 10-screen film installation on abolitionist Frederick Douglass is available for public viewing at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts beginning Saturday.
The Henrico County Police have a long history in the area, dating back to the late 1600s when the General Assembly, which met in Jamestown, organized a method of containing unlawful assemblies, riots and rebellions.
The Young Women’s Christian Association, or YWCA of Richmond, is the oldest branch in the South.
Photos of the Christmas tree lighting at The Jefferson Hotel from the Times-Dispatch archives.
With a new arena for downtown being discussed, here's a look back at professional hockey at the Richmond Coliseum.
Every day the Times-Dispatch publishes a photo from our archives. If you haven't been keeping up, here's a look at more than 150 published so far this year.
Eugenicist Walter Plecker, the first registrar of Virginia’s Bureau of Vital Statistics, sought to erase Virginia Indians out of existence with a bureaucrat’s stroke during the first half of the 20th century.
Here are 100 photos of a favorite summertime hangout — Pony Pasture.
The mall, anchored by Miller & Rhoads and Thalhimers, opened to great fanfare in 1985, but struggled after its two anchor stores closed. The iconic bridge over Broad Street was finally demolished in 2003.
Cloverleaf Mall in Chesterfield, which opened in 1972, closed in 2008 and was demolished in 2011.
Here's a collection of election front pages from our microfilm archive (1903-1986) and our pdf archive (2001-present).
Take a look back at photos of Shockoe Bottom from the RTD Archives.
On January 13, 1990, Gov. L. Douglas Wilder was sworn in as the 66th governor of Virginia. He was the state's first elected African-American governor.