Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
UPDATE: Democratic presidential hopefuls round up Virginia endorsements ahead of Super Tuesday

UPDATE: Democratic presidential hopefuls round up Virginia endorsements ahead of Super Tuesday


Imarogbe Leach leans into a voting booth while casting his ballot at Blandford Academy in Petersburg on Nov. 7, 2017.

Candidates in the crowded Democratic presidential primary field will vie for Virginia’s 99 pledged delegates on Tuesday.

Virginia’s primary coincides with those of 13 other states in what will likely be a pivotal Super Tuesday contest.

Candidates are seeking alliances with current and former lawmakers, local elected leaders and other prominent Virginia figures to make their case to voters in the Old Dominion.

Names in bold are new to the list.

Here’s a list of who’s endorsed who:

Joe Biden

Former vice president

Current and former lawmakers: Sen. Tim Kaine, D-Va.; Rep. Abigail Spanberger, D-7th; Rep. Bobby Scott, D-3rd; Rep. Jennifer Wexton, D-10th; Rep. Don Beyer, D-8th; Rep. Elaine Luria, D-2nd; Rep. Don McEachin, D-4th; Senate Majority Leader Dick Saslaw, D-Fairfax; Sen. Lynwood Lewis, D-Accomack; Sen. Louise Lucas, D-Portsmouth; Sen. Lionell Spruill Sr., D-Chesapeake; Sen. John Bell, D-Loudoun; Sen. Adam Ebbin, D-Alexandria; Sen. Jeremy McPike, D-Prince William; Sen. John Edwards, D-Roanoke; Sen. Barbara Favola, D-Arlington; House Majority Leader Charniele Herring, D-Alexandria; Del. Lamont Bagby, D-Henrico; Del. Mark Levine, D-Alexandria; Del. Martha Mugler, D-Hampton; Del. Luke Torian, D-Prince William; Del. Dan Helmer, D-Fairfax; Del. David Reid, D-Loudoun; Del. Delores McQuinn, D-Richmond; Del. Mark Sickles, D-Fairfax; Del. Joe Lindsey, D-Norfolk; Del. Roslyn Tyler, D-Sussex; Del. Cliff Hayes, D-Chesapeake; Del. Alfonso Lopez, D-Arlington; Del. Kathleen Murphy, D-Fairfax; Del. Rip Sullivan, D-Fairfax; Del. Alex Askew, D-Virginia Beach; Del. Don Scott, D-Portsmouth;

former Gov. Terry McAuliffe; former Sen. John Warner, R-Va.; former Rep. Jim Moran, D-8th; former House of Delegates Democratic leaders Dick Cranwell, Ward Armstrong and David Toscano

Local elected officials: Richmond Mayor Levar Stoney; Richmond City Council member Kristen Larson; Richmond City Council member Stephanie Lynch; Richmond School Board member Dawn Page; Henrico County Supervisor Tyrone Nelson; Chesterfield County Supervisor Jim Holland; Norfolk City Treasurer Daun Hester; Hampton City Councilman Steven Brown; Hampton School Board member Ann Stephens Cherry; Hampton Vice Mayor Jimmy Gray; Hampton School Board member Reginald Woodhouse; Hampton Commonwealth’s Attorney Anton Bell; Hampton Commissioner of the Revenue Ross Mugler; Newport News School Board member John Eley; Bristol Mayor Neal Osborne; Herndon Town Councilman Cesar del Aguila; Prince William School Board Chair Babur Lateef; Phyllis Randall, chair of the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors; Loudoun County Supervisor Mike Turner; Fairfax County Supervisor John Foust; Arlington County Board member Tannia Talento; Stafford County School Board member Pamela Yeung; Leesburg Vice Mayor Fernando “Marty” Martinez; Prince William County Supervisor Andrea Bailey; Arlington School Board member Barbara Kanninen; Newport News Commissioner of the Revenue Tiffany Boyle; Herndon Vice Mayor Sheila Olem; Roanoke City Council member Anita James Price; Roanoke City Council member Djuna Osborne; Roanoke Clerk of Court Brenda Hamilton

Community leaders and prominent figures: Vice President of Korean American Society of Virginia Hyun Lee; Virginia Latino Advisory Board member Vivian Sanchez-Jones; Virginia Latino Advisory Board Secretary Paul Berry; gun reform activist Andy Parker; Safer Country Executive Director Paul Friedman; Chesterfield NAACP President Avohom ‘Vo’ Carpenter; community activist James E. ‘J.J.’ Minor; former House of Delegates candidate Sheila Bynum-Coleman; former Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources Molly Ward; former Charlottesville Mayor Michael Signer

Mike Bloomberg

Former New York City mayor

Current and former lawmakers: Del. Lashrecse Aird, D-Petersburg; Del. Nancy Guy, D-Virginia Beach, Del. Clint Jenkins, D-Suffolk

Local elected officials: Richmond City Council member Chris Hilbert; Norfolk Mayor Kenny Alexander; Dumfries Mayor Derrick Wood; Leesburg City Council member Ron Campbell; Norfolk City Council member Angelia Williams Graves; Suffolk City Council member Lue Ward; Hampton Treasurer Molly Ward, Chesapeake City Council Member Ella Ward; Virginia Beach Commissioner of the Revenue Phil Kellam; Newport News Sheriff Gabe Morgan; Manassas Council Member Alanna Mensing

Community leaders and prominent figures: Gun safety activist Lori Haas; former Secretary of the Commonwealth Laurie Naismith; former Virginia Secretary of Commerce and Trade Esther Lee; retired chief judge for the Virginia Court of Appeals Johanna Fitzpatrick; former Venture Richmond Executive Director Jack Berry

Pete Buttigieg

Former South Bend, Ind. mayor

Current and former lawmakers: Rep. Don Beyer, D-8th; Sen. Adam Ebbin, D-Alexandria; Del. Mark Keam, D-Fairfax; Del. Dan Helmer, D-Fairfax; Sen. Barbara Favola, D-Arlington; Del. Mark Levine, D-Alexandria; former Rep. Glenn Nye, D-2nd

Local elected officials: Norfolk City Council member Andria McClellan, Herndon Mayor Lisa Merkel

Tulsi Gabbard

U.S. representative from Hawaii

Her campaign did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Amy Klobuchar

U.S. senator from Minnesota

Current and former lawmakers: Sen. Janet Howell, D-Fairfax; Sen. Creigh Deeds, D-Bath; Sen. Chap Petersen, D-Fairfax City; Del. David Reid, D-Loudoun

Bernie Sanders

U.S. senator from Vermont

Current and former lawmakers: Del. Lee Carter, D-Manassas, Del. Elizabeth Guzman, D-Prince William

Local elected officials: Fairfax County School Board member Abrar Omeish; Loudoun County Supervisor Koran T. Saines, Alexandria City Councilman Mohamed E. “Mo” Seifeldein

Elizabeth Warren

U.S. senator from Massachusetts

Current and former lawmakers: Sen. Ghazala Hashmi, D-Chesterfield; Del. Josh Cole, D-Fredericksburg; Del. Kathy Tran, D-Fairfax; Del. Sally Hudson, D-Charlottesville; Del. Sam Rasoul, D-Roanoke

Local elected officials: Stafford County Supervisor Tinesha Allen; Loudoun County Supervisor Juli Briskman; Blacksburg Town Council member Lauren Colliver; Dumfries Councilwoman Selonia Miles; Arlington Commonwealth's Attorney Parisa Dehghani-Tafti; Arlington School Board member Nancy Van Doren

Community leaders and prominent figures: Former Del. Debra Rodman, D-Henrico

(804) 649-6254

Twitter: @MelLeonor_

(804) 649-6012

Twitter: @jmattingly306

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News