Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Virginia Tech's Beamer on College Hall of Fame ballot

Virginia Tech's Beamer on College Hall of Fame ballot

  • 0

Former Virginia Tech football coach Frank Beamer’s name will appear on the ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame, one of six FBS coaches under consideration.

Beamer, now 70, coached his alma mater from 1987-2015. He led the Hokies to 23 straight bowl appearances from 1993-2015, winning his final game, over Tulsa in the Independence Bowl.

Beamer, who also coached Murray State for six seasons, was the winningest active coach in college football at the time of his retirement, with a record of 280-143-4.

Former Texas and North Carolina coach Mack Brown is among the other coaches on this year’s ballot. Players under consideration include Miami linebacker Ray Lewis, Penn State quarterback Kerry Collins, Southern Methodist running back Eric Dickerson, California tight end Tony Gonzalez, Notre Dame wide receiver Raghib Ismail, UCLA linebacker Ken Norton Jr. and Miami defensive tackle Warren Sapp.

Virginia quarterback Shawn Moore and defensive back Anthony Poindexter are also on the ballot.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 5.19 million people have played college football and only 987 players have been inducted,” said National Football Foundation President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a first team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible.”

Being placed on the ballot as a player, Hatchell said, “means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are extremely proud to announce their names. We look forward to revealing the 2018 class prior to the CFP national championship in Atlanta, the esteemed home of the College Football Hall of Fame.”

Members of the National Football Foundation and current members of the Hall will vote on the 2018 class, which will be announced before the College Football Playoff national championship game in Atlanta.

In all, 75 players and six coaches from FBS and 98 players and 31 coaches from the lower divisional ranks are on the ballot.

The results of the balloting will be announced Monday, Jan. 8, 2018. The 2018 class will officially be inducted during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown.

The College Football Hall of Fame is in Atlanta.


Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News